IRRSP Certification Requirements

The Industrial Radiography Radiation Safety Personnel (IRRSP) program provides third-party radiation safety certification that meets the certification requirements of both Title 10 Part 34 of the Code of Federal Regulations (10CFR34), and the Suggested State Regulations for Control of Radiation (SSRCR: Part A, General Provisions; Part E, Radiation Safety Requirements for Industrial Radiographic Operations; Part H, Radiation Safety Requirements for Non-Healing Arts Radiation Generating Devices; Part T, Transportation of Radioactive Material).

Three IRRSP certification examinations are available:

  • Radioactive materials (RAM), for personnel using gamma sources only.
  • X-ray, for personnel using X-ray machines only; and
  • Combination (“Combo”) for personnel working with both RAM and X-ray devices.

Acceptance of the IRRSP radiation safety certification within a state is solely at the discretion of the state in question. However, states that do recognize “approved certifying entities” will accept the IRRSP certifications because ASNT is an approved Certifying Entity. Questions regarding acceptability should be directed to the department governing the state’s radiation control program. View listing of State Regulatory Agencies.

Program Information

Apply for Certification